It was in the air

Posted on March 15, 2013

0


A few days ago the streets were swept of sand and people started to bring out their lighter jackets and post pictures of spiral shaped elastic bodies “around the corner” on facebook. It was in the air. It was coming. Then I guess it looked up, saw where it was headed and decided to change direction completely.

I took this photo on my lunch break, March 11th. Note that most of the water in the picture hasn’t figured out what’s going on yet.

fish alien frozen fountain

The eighth passenger.

Today, three days of all-day-below-zero* I found a box of Christmas decorations at my office and we were all very tempted to put them back up again. But as we look out the window the snowing had stopped so we didn’t.

The sea has refrozen and with this morning’s snow in drifts on top it looks like waves are rolling in while time is standing still. (It comes out really well in a photo, yes, I know… No sarcasm here at all. Or maybe a little. Some. Well…)

As idle as a painted ship upon a painted ocean.

As idle as a painted ship upon a painted ocean.

Then, well

refrozen

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

Under these circumstances something very predictable happens in my head. I am not entirely sure if this shows my

    a) optimism,
    b) stupidity or
    c) willpower.

Or if it is the simplest possible illustration of how I think magic should work in this world.

pots statuettes hollyhock

Mallow, hollyhock and sweet peas of various sorts.

pots poppy

Sweet peas and poppies.

pots statuette

More sweet peas.

*talking degrees Celsius here, but I’m sure you got that. This, apparently, is called an Ice Day.

lots of pots

Lots of pots.