One night in November / Mundana en novembernatt

Posted on November 17, 2010

0


The thermometer in my kitchen window shows only a fraction below freezing point but in my fingers it’s like the helicopter scene in “The Day After Tomorrow”. I’m weak, I know. But to my defence it hasn’t been this cold since last season. Frost settles on my star map while I put it down to adjust the telescope.

Termometern i köksfönstret säger det är en halv visarbredd under noll. Mina fingrar tänker snarare på scenen med helikoptern i “The Day After Tomorrow”. Ja, jag är klen – men såhär kallt har det faktiskt inte varit sedan förra säsongen. Rimfrosten växer på stjärnkartan medan jag är ute…

Starmap

To not get lost. / För att inte gå vilse.

My camera – as I’ve probably mentioned before – doesn’t like it when it is cold or dark or difficult in any way, and its standard way of saying so it “battery low” – regardless of both what the battery indicator says and how much juice there actually is left in the battery. Tonight she’s been really good; taken about a dozen pictures and only done the “battery low” shut down three or four times. I love my camera. It is pink metallic.

Kameran – jag tror jag har nämnt det tidigare – tycker inte om när det är kallt, eller mörkt eller av någon annan anledning svårt att fokusera. Ikväll har hon varit riktigt stark. Tagit runt dussinet bilder och bara stängt av sig en tre-fyra gånger.

The church of Karl Johan

A guiding light... / Ledbelysning och stämningssättare.

I’ve been watching a bunch of stars tonight, mostly in Orion. I found the planetary nebula, and I took a long hard look at my darling Betelgeuse. But since I have compact camera (in pink metallic!) and a Galileoscope – not the Hubble space telescope – I haven’t even tried to take a photo. It’s not like I could top this one I’ve already posted.

I was too late for the two companions the Moon and Jupiter, who had already set.

Jag har tittat på många olika stjärnor ikväll och på Orionnebulosan och på min älskling Betelgeuse. Men eftersom jag har en liten kompaktkamera och ett Galileoscope – inget Hubbleteleskop – så har jag inte ens försökt ta några bilder på så ljussvaga saker. Dessutom har jag ju redan presenterat en bild här tidigare.

Månen hann gå ner bakom huset och hans tillfälliga kompis Jupiter likaså.

Karl Johansgatan

What am I looking at? / Visst är det hon som lyser i grönt långt därborta ovanför hustaken?

The slightly brighter side of the lawn I’m watching from has free line of sight to the statue of the sailor’s wife. She is standing at the top of a tower, watching and waiting for her husband to return home. He never will.

She is up-side-down because of how the lenses are arranged in the telescope. I decided to not turn them right to keep that telescopy feeling.

Bilderna är tagna från den lite ljusare delen av min gräsplätt för det är därifrån jag har fri sikt till Sjömanshustrun. Slutligen skulle jag välan kunna vända på bilderna men eftersom hon hamnar uppånerpå i teleskopet så låter jag henne vara så. För känslans skull, kan vi säga…

The Sailor's Wife

The sailor's wife is waiting for her love to come home. / Sjömanshustrun väntar på sin käresta.

Kampanilen, Sjöfartsmuseet

Forever waiting. / Och hon väntar ännu.