Bird music / Fåglar och musik

Posted on November 24, 2009

0


kråka, crow

Mostly crows...

No, I can’t refrain from using the title “Bird songs”

I made you a bird related playlist too… The link to it is at the bottom of this post. It turned out to be mostly crows. It often does. I wonder if that means something…

Maybe some of these songs call for an explanation. (Maybe not.)

I start off with the “It can’t rain all the time” phrase from The Crow. (It’s from the movie soundtrack, but a song with this textline also appears in the graphic novel.

The song “Flickan och kråkan” (The Girl and the Crow) is one of those which nearly everyone here knows, and I used to think it was tiresome and worn out, but nowadays I love it. Though Mikael Wiehe’s arrangement of it on the album is just plain weird so I picked Sofia Karlsson for the playlist.

“Kråkor och konjak” (Crows and cognac) earned its place here with the line “That’s in case you’re wondering, when you’re strolling by, why there’s an empty bottle of cognac on the telephone wire”.

“Á sprengisandi” (or “Ríðum, ríðum”) is really a riding song and has nothing to do with birds, but… it is the theme song for “Hrafninn flýgur” (When the Raven Flies).

And in the middle of all those corvids (and some cockatoos) I threw in a strong voiced french sparrow.

crow, kråka

This drawing that I made in the summer of 2008 has the text 'No, but Darling, in this case I've got an opinion, and that means I'm right.' written beneath it. I do not remember why.


SaraErikamakesthemostfabulousjewelleryintheworldbutthisisafillertextwhichisnotsupposedtobereadableanyway

Nej, jag kan inte låta bli rubriken “Fågelsånger”…

Efter allt det där tänkandet på fåglar häromdagen så behövde jag göra en fågelspellista också. Från början försökte jag göra den lite varierad, men i slutändan blev det visst nästan bara kråkfåglar. Jag har märkt att det händer emellanåt. Att det blir mycket kråkfåglar. Det betyder säkert nånting.

Jag tror egentligen inte att spellistan kräver nån förklaring men jag tänker ge det till några av låtarna ändå.

Jag börjar med en rad från The Crow: “Det kan inte regna hela tiden…” Jag minns att jag hakade upp mig på vilken melodi det skulle vara till den strofen när jag läste seriealbumet.

Vid ungefär samma tid tyckte jag att Flickan och kråkan var en av de mest uttjatade sångerna i världen och dessutom ganska fånig. Då såg jag framför mig farbrorn och tidningen. Nu ser jag flickan och kråkan.

Kråkor och konjak är väl kanske inte en låt jag brukar lyssna på sådär jätteofta, men den förtjänar sin plats här genom strofen “Detta ifall ni undrar när ni är ute och går, varför en urdrucken flaska konjak står på telefontrån…”

Den udda låten i sammanhanget är Á sprengisandi som ju skriker häst mycket mer än kråka… Tills man kommer ihåg att den utgör hela filmmusiken till Korpen flyger.

Och mittibland alla dessa kråkor sitter ett par kakaduor och en liten men sångstark sparv.

jackdaw, kaja, corvus monedula

I drew this jackdaw from a photo. And apparently I've been teaching some maths on that same sheet of paper.

Here’s the playlist:

  • Tracking the Prey – Graeme Revell
  • Fåglar – Cornelis Vreeswijk / Stefan Sundström
  • Crow Jane – Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds
  • Flickan och kråkan – Mikael Wiehe / Sofia Karlsson
  • Firebird – Blue for Two
  • Non, je ne regrette rien – Edit PIaf
  • Silver Wings – Rosanne Cash & Rufus Wainwright
  • Kråkor och konjak – Eldkvarn
  • The Crow Descends – Graeme Revell
  • Ríðum, ríðum – Øvrevolls Spelemannslag
  • Like Cockatoos – The Cure
  • Korp – Anders Ilar
crow, kråka

This guy was also posing for me in Slottskogen that summer day. Though this drawing has no witty remark attached.