Ring Ring Bracelet

Posted on August 9, 2009

0


About a month ago I mentioned that I was about to upload two bracelets, which I did, and present them properly later, which I do now.

The smaller one

Smaller Circles Bracelet

Smaller Circles Bracelet

This is the one in the blog header and in the header to my Etsy shop.

It is made from silver coated copper wire of two different dimensions, the thinner one winded around the thicker. The rings are connected with the thinner wire, protected by a bead. The lock is nothing fancy. It works.

I wanted to see how small I could make those rings. This isn’t the limit. But this is where it gets difficult on a new level. You see, the thin wire likes to bite.

The bigger one

The second upload was not the one I promised, but something else entirely. This one will come around shortly; the header bracelet’s bigger brother.

This one came first (as bigger brothers often do) and is one of these things I had no idea what they were going to become, when I started.

There is a little autistic boy inside of me somewhere, and I think this is one of his.
There are two kinds of wire. Let’s wind one of them neatly around the other.

That is about the most ordered way to combine them I can imagine. And circles are about the most ordered geometric figure I can think of. Still, when I take that step to make circles of the winded wire that little boy crawls deep, deep down to hide.

There are not two rings alike. Even though they are formed around the same item they are all of different sizes and not one of them is circular. They are even tilted at different angles. Oh, well…

Ring dance

Ring dance

Det mindre

Det har gått över en månad sedan jag nämnde i förbigående att jag skulle ladda upp armbandet jag har i både bloggens och butikens sidhuvud. Det gjorde jag också. Det finns här.

Detalj av det lilla

Detalj av det lilla

Det är ett ganska stelt armband av försilvrad koppartråd. Ringarna är konstruerade av tunnare tråd virad runt en tjockare och de är sammanlänkade med den tunnare tråden (därav stelheten).

Låset är världens enklaste mojäng.

Jag ville se hur små jag kunde göra de däringa ringarna. De går väl för all del att göra mindre än såhär, men då kommer svordomsfrekvensen öka massor. Den tunna tråden tycker nämligen om att bitas när man jobbar med den.

Det större

Bigger Circles Bracelet

Bigger Circles Bracelet

Jag lovade också att lägga upp dess storebror. Det har jag inte gjort. Än. Det var storesbrorsan som kom först till världen (vilket inte är så underligt om man tänker på saken) och jag visste inte vad han skulle bli innan han var klar.

Det är väl den lilla autisten inom mig (var skulle han annars vara) som gör att sånna här saker händer: Jag har två sorters tråd, en tjockare och en tunnare. Kan de jobba tillsammans? Kan man kombinera dem på något sätt? Jo, det visar sig att man kan vira den ena snyggt och prydligt runt den andra.

Jag kan inte tänka mig något mer ordnat sätt att bygga ihop dem, men när jag drar det ett steg till och böjer den inre tråden till en ring är vi tillbaka i kaos. Entropin har ökat oproportionerligt.

Armband som dansar på midsommarbordet

Armband som dansar på midsommarbordet