Four forward. Drifting to the right a little.

Posted on July 20, 2009

0


Full Moon above Karl Johansgatan.

Full Moon above Karl Johansgatan.

Altitude record

I don’t care much for sports but the human altitude record does fascinate me. At first I thought today’s post would be about vacation and weather, but that will have to wait. After a glimpse in the calendar (well, and a hint from TV and news papers) today seems to be a good day to talk about that record.

It is not the forty year anniversary of that record. It is the forty year anniversary of this.

There are of course a whole lot of youtube videos of it, but they all go with this caution from xkcd.

I don’t have a whole lot to add at the moment, except that I’ll be doing some sketching on rockets for a while now.

And the record? As far as I’ve understood it is held by the crew of Apollo 13.

 

Höjdrekord och söndagspromenader långt borta

Jag bryr mig inte så mycket om sport och resultat och så med det finns ett rekord som fascinerar mig och det är det mänskliga höjdrekordet. Nej, jag talar inte om den längsta männinskan. Och det är egentligen inte höjdrekordet i sig som får mig att ta upp det nu. Först trodde jag att dagens inlägg skulle handla om semesterväder eller liknande men det är faktiskt en jubileumsdag. Inte av höjdrekordet, men av nånting nära sammanlänkat med det: Neils promenad på månen.

My darling, entering Earth's umbra.

My darling moon, entering Earth's umbra in 2007.

Titta gärna på svt:s arkiv också. Mycket skoj.

Det är sent och jag har inte mycket att tillägga annat än att jag kommer att skissa på en eller annan rymdraket framöver.

Och rekordet? Såvitt jag förstått hålls det av besättningen på Apollo 13.

I guess I\'d better say nothing at all to this one. / Hur tusan ska jag kunna hitta på en bra bildtext till denna?

This is not Columbia, nor is it Eagle.