Masculinity again / Manlighet igen

Posted on April 18, 2009

2


Quick results

Late night photoshop cloning.

Late night photoshop cloning.

I thought I should have to twist and turn this subject for at least a couple of weeks before anything half interesting turned up, but this inspiration hit me while uploading the – rather childish – sketches to the previous post. And since I had the day off I could get started immediately. I started by sawing rings and searching for the pliers. The rest went almost by itself.

Twice I had to stop to think, but not for very long.

Problem 1: What is the best choice of link for the chain part?
Conditions: It must have the right thickness and stiffness.
Solution: It felt natural to try the King’s link. Its name doesn’t make it less fitting.

Said and done. Everything is great. Or, hang on…

Problem 2: Balance
Condition: If it tips over – and it will, if left alone – the entire point is lost.
Solution: Counter weight. By a coincidence that looks like a thought, it took two of those pink balls to weight it up to the right virile angle.

I had to work a bit to get it stiff to, but that’s as it should be, I guess.

Raskt marscherat

The result

The result

Här trodde jag att jag skull få klura i veckovis på en bra ide, men inspirationen kom redan när jag la upp skisserna till den förra posten. Och igår var jag ledig från både jobb och skola så det var bara att sätta igång och såga ringar. Sen gick resten nästan av sig själv.

Jag fastnade två gånger under tiden men båda gångerna fanns det en enkel och bra lösning, oförskämt nära tillhands.

Problem 1: Vilken typ av länk ska jag välja till kedjebiten?
Krav: Den skall vara lagom grov och tillräckligt styv.
Lösning: Kungalänken föll sig naturligt, inte minst för sitt namn.

Beslutat. Genomfört. Färdigställt. Eller vänta…

Problem 2: Balans.
Krav: Hela idéen faller om inte kedjan pekar i en viril riktning.
Lösning: Motvikt. Det visade sig att en rosa kula inte var tillräckligt, så varför inte ta två?

Nått manligt

Nått manligt


Ja, jag fick jobba lite för styvheten också, men så ska det väl vara?

Det här betyder inte att jag kommer att sluta nu. Jag kommer vrida och vränga på begreppet tills jag tröttnat på vad som kommer ut eller folk säger åt mig att föri h******e sluta.