Det otäcka

Posted on April 15, 2009

3


First one to give me a good suggestion for an English version of the Swedish post title gets a star in the margin and the honour of  having that title posted. 

Masculinity

The other day I pushed for a request and the answer I got was:

“Well, I don’t know… Something masculine.”

I’ve spent so much energy at tumbling and twisting gender stereotypes that I’m no longer sure what goes where.

My personal interpretation of the request (stretching it a bit…) goes something like this:

“Whatever gender the person who wears it has, wants to have, poses as, plays with; this item shall feel masculine.”

The easy way out is to chose some kind of symbol for masculinity and make a necklace pendant out of it, but that’s cheating. Which, by the way, didn’t stop me from sketching and I got some not-completely-rubbish ideas involving a spear in a circle. But the problem is that on a woman those will say amazon rather than man. Anyway that’s not really the masculinity I’m after.

No comment

No comment

Is there some least common denominator in jewellery worn by men? Something in shape and appearance rather than motif and contents.

This calls for further investigation!

What are your thoughts on the matter?

 

Manlighet

Häromdagen fick jag en smyckeförfrågan att bita i. Den löd i sin helhet:

“Jag vet inte. Nånting manligt.”

Själv har jag lagt så mycket energi på att leka med, vända på och luckra upp könsroller att jag knappt vet vad det betyder längre.

Min personliga vidaretolkning är något i stil med:

“Oavsett bärarens könsidentitet och övriga stil skall detta kännas maskulint.”

Kanske kan jag tillochmed sträcka mig till att:

“Det första intrycket skall vara manlighet.”

Den fega lösningen är att välja nån sorts manlighetssymbol och göra ett halsbandshänge av det. Men det måste väl ändå vara fusk? Jag provritar lite och hamnar i nån sorts spjut-inskrivet-i-cirkel-design och det ser inte helt dumt ut men på en kvinna skulle det föra tankarna till amazon snarare än man.

Inga kommentarer

Inga kommentarer

Finns det någon gemensam nämnare för smycken som bärs av män? Något särskilt formspråk man kan låna och leka med. Jobba med ett maskulint uttryck snarare än motiv?

Detta skall utredas!

Vad tror och tänker du?